pitnanax.blogg.se

Install matplotlib on mac
Install matplotlib on mac












install matplotlib on mac
  1. #Install matplotlib on mac mac os
  2. #Install matplotlib on mac install
  3. #Install matplotlib on mac software
  4. #Install matplotlib on mac code

The precompiled binaries run as fast or faster than the typical build from source, are simple to install, can be upgraded easily, and take advantage of newer compilers and dependencies than those available in typical systems (e.g., gcc 7.3.0 vs.

#Install matplotlib on mac install

The recommended way to install PyMeep is using the Conda package manager. For more information, see Build From Source. Gzipped tarballs of stable versions of the source are available on the releases page, and you can also do a git clone of the master branch of the Meep repository on Github if you have Autotools installed. MPB and Harminv, in turn, require LAPACK and BLAS and FFTW to be installed. configure & make & make install machinery, but requires a number of prerequisites in order to obtain a full-featured Meep installation: MPB, Libctl, Harminv, libGDSII, MPI, OpenMP, HDF5, Python, and Guile. Meep's build systems uses the standard GNU Autotools. This is mainly because of the numerous prerequisites that must be installed as well as the need to specify in the build scripts where these packages are to be found.

#Install matplotlib on mac code

Must have been ages ago.Īfter some frustrating hours of trying to get this 'freetype' thing installed, I ran into an article on which solved my issue finally.Īnd finally, I was able to successfully install matplotlib: Table of Contentsīuilding Meep directly from the source code can be challenging for users unfamiliar with building Unix software. The times that I did a clean install on this machine.

install matplotlib on mac install matplotlib on mac

And in the past I have always upgraded my OS.

#Install matplotlib on mac software

Some googling pointed me to some articles that freetype is/was a part of the XQuartz (X11) software that's no longer (pre)installed on MacOS Sierra. I could 'pip' all I wanted, but the result was always: This resulted in a couple of challenges, including some software that could not be installed, and for which I had to find some alternatives.Īnother issue I ran into is that some Python3 scripts with matplotlib wouldn't run, because matplotlib wouldn't install correctly. I recently 'upgraded' to MacOS Sierra (Apple's latest Operating System) by doing a clean install. $bash conda create -n myenv python = 3 $bash conda install-n myenv numpy scipy matplotlib ipython Note: environments will be created in ROOTDIR/envs by default, you can use the -p instead of the -n flag in the conda commands above in order to specify a custom path. Installing Matplotlib on your Mac or Windows Laptop First install Python 3.x: Even if you have an older version of Python, e.g., Python 3.2, on your laptop, you can still install a newer version, e.g., 3.5 or 3.6. This resulted in a couple of challenges, including some software that could not be installed, and for which I had to find some alternatives. There I soon enough discovered the backends section.I recently 'upgraded' to MacOS Sierra (Apple's latest Operating System) by doing a clean install. SolutionĪfter submitting a question at Stack Overflow and also at matplotlib forum, I thought about reading the documentation ( classic).

#Install matplotlib on mac mac os

I’ve also tested my script on 3 other Macs with different Mac OS and Python versions installed, just to make sure that it’s not my environment who messes things up, but it was the same on all of them - no animation showing up. As a side note, you might have noticed that animation speed is different between Windows and Linux ( the latter is faster), and I’ve no idea what could be the reason of that either, though it’s not so important here. However, the fact that this very same script works on Windows and Linux confused me a lot. I’ve tried other simple plot animation samples ( for instance, the ones from matplotlib documentation), and all of them work fine on Mac OS, so there has to be something wrong with my particular script.














Install matplotlib on mac